BROTHER CANE: Re-releases Debut Album

BROTHER CANE 30th Anniversary Debut Album Reissues: Vinyl (first time ever!), CD and cassette…plus an amazing bundle offer!

Shop HERE for the various formats and pre-order your copy of the Brother Cane self-titled debut album. LIMITED SUPPLY AVAILABLE, so act now! 

Remastered Vinyl – black variant
Remastered Vinyl – orange/purple variant
Remastered CD – w/TWO unreleased bonus tracks
Orange Cassette – just like old times!
ULTIMATE BUNDLE – Vinyl + CD + cassette + signed poster + sticker

To celebrate the 30th Anniversary of their 1993 debut album, Brother Cane has teamed up with Blind Tiger Records / Girder Records to bring you a fully remastered anniversary edition of the seminal release. Available for the first time on Colored Vinyl, Black Vinyl, CD, and Cassette. You get 2 color options: standard virgin black or a (webstore exclusive) Orange/Purple Vinyl.  The remastered 30th CD comes with a collector sleeve and LTD collector card and contains two previous unreleased bonus tracks. Also available is a sonic orange cassette version. You can pre-order 1 of only 100 bundles that will include the Vinyl, CD, Cassette, and an autographed 11×17 band poster and band sticker. The poster will be autographed by founding member Damon Johnson.  The Orange/Purple Vinyl is limited to 750 copies. Cassettes are limited to 200 and the CD is limited to 1000. 

  • 30th Anniversary Release
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Remastered from original masters
  • Mastered for Vinyl
  • Heavy Weight Audiophile Vinyl
  • Webstore Exclusive Orange/Purple Vinyl
  • Black Poly-lined Sleeve
  • Includes Lyrics and photos on a 12×12″ insert
  • Part of the Limited Run Vinyl Series
  • Bundle available with Sticker and Autographed Poster
  • Release Date: 10/20/2023 


Rattle My Bones (4:11)
Cold Heart (5:59)

Recorded at The Record Plant in Los Angeles, CA, “Rattle My Bones” was recorded on 10/12/1992 and “Cold Heart” was recorded 10/02/1992. Both songs were produced and engineered by Jim Mitchell and fully restored and remastered from original master 1/2″ analog tapes at 30ips from the Ampex 456 10.5″ hub to produce quality 192 kHz 24 Bit audio for CD and Vinyl. The reels were fully baked using a dehydration process for 4 hours @130 degrees. 

“Rattle My Bones” was written with GnR collaborator West Arkeen but left off the debut album because “it felt a bit too derivative of Guns N Roses”, stated Damon Johnson.

“Cold Heart,” co-written with Michael Dan Ehmig, is an R&B-tinged gem. “I’m really proud of it,” Johnson says, “and proud that I can glimpse a legitimate artist emerging within the bombast of the production and aggressive guitar bits. This lyric delivery is more honest and believable than some of my other songs sung from this time period, as I had never been the lead singer in any of my previous bands.” 

Brother Cane is an American rock band originally from Birmingham, Alabama. Formed by singer/guitarist Damon Johnson and bassist Glenn Maxey in 1991, the group released three studio albums and several charting singles including three number 1’s and five top 10 hits.  Brother Cane released the band’s debut self-titled album in 1993 on Virgin Records. The album peaked at #14 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and would produce several hit singles including “Got No Shame” (#2 Mainstream Rock), “That Don’t Satisfy Me” (#6 Mainstream Rock), and “Hard Act To Follow” (#12 Mainstream Rock). The album evoked the classic rock sound of early Black Crowes and Guns N’ Roses. The album was produced by the legendary songwriter and record producer Martin “Marti” Frederiksen. The album garnered the band U.S. tours with AerosmithRobert Plant, and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

The band’s next album, Seeds, yielded the #1 Rock track, the haunting and swampy, “And Fools Shine On.” This hit led to a lengthy and successful tour in support of the mighty Van Halen. Their last release, Wishpool, brought Brother Cane another #1 song at Rock Radio, “I Lie In The Bed I Make”. After major personnel changes at Virgin Records, the band’s label, as well as a major shift in style at rock and alt radio formats, the band went on what turned out to be an extended hiatus. During this time, Damon Johnson toured the world as the guitarist for legends Alice Cooper and Thin Lizzy. In early 2021 Johnson was asked to fill in for the legendary guitarist and founding member of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Gary Rossington (a position that Damon still holds today). While touring with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Johnson was pleasantly surprised on how many fans not only remembered Brother Cane but shared their stories on how much the band and those songs meant to them.

It all started with this 1993 self-titled debut! Beautifully repackaged and first time on vinyl now 30 years later.

Visit the Brother Cane store for additional info:

And Brother Cane will begin the “30th Anniversary Tour” in October, with dates running into December.

For tickets and info on all things Brother Cane go to

Brother Cane VIP Experience Meet & Greet packages are HERE

Check out the “What Brother Cane Says” article from Heaven’s Metal #47:

About Author

1 thought on “BROTHER CANE: Re-releases Debut Album

  1. Hey there Heaven’s metal! I had a question. I’d the band Brother Cane that Girder Records is remastering a Christian rock band? Just curious.

Comments are closed.